Sign in RU RU EN EN PL PL ES ES
muzmo.org
John Lydon looks back on the demise of Sid Vicious
 Add to favorites

John Lydon has looked back on how the demise of late Sex Pistols bandmate Sid Vicious, and how he inspired Public Image Ltd‘s track ‘Low Life’.

Lydon was speaking in the latest issue of Uncut, to mark the upcoming 40th anniversary of Public Image’s debut album ‘First Issue’ and the breakthrough of post-punk in 1978.

Speaking about the song ‘Low Life’, Lydon opened up about how the track was inspired by Sid Vicious – who was on bail for the murder of girlfriend Nancy Spungen at the time he wrote it.

Sex Pistols at the band’s last 1978 public appearance at the Winterland Ballroom in San Francisco, California

Sex Pistols at the band’s last 1978 public appearance at the Winterland Ballroom in San Francisco, California

“I missed Sid,” said Lydon. “I missed how I could have helped him, steered him away, but he sought it out. We dragged him into the band but he wasn’t prepared for the onslaught.

“Heroin was a natural safety blanket; it takes away those feelings of doubt. For me, self-doubt is one of my biggest motivators. It’s where I thrive. I can’t deal with compliments but I can handle an insult. It armours my artillery.”

Meanwhile, Public Image Ltd recently announced details of a 40th anniversary tour, as well as a documentary and box set.

The band’s upcoming tour dates are below. Visit here for tickets and more information.

Wed 30th May Bristol, England O2 Academy Fri 1st June Bournemouth, England O2 Academy Sat 2nd June London, England Camden Rocks Festival Mon 4th June Coventry, England The Copper Rooms Wed 6th June Norwich, England The Waterfront Tue 12th June Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, England O2 Academy Wed 13th June Glasgow, Scotland O2 ABC Fri 15th June Sheffield, England O2 Academy Sat 16th June Manchester, England O2 Ritz Mon 18th June Hull, England ASYLUM, Hull University Thu 21st June Cardiff, Wales The Tramshed Sat 23rd June Exeter, England Lemon Grove Sun 24th June Wrexham, England William Aston Hall Tue 26th June Reading, England Sub 89 Wed 27th June Frome, Somerset, England Cheese & Grain Fri 29th June Nottingham, England Rock City Sat 30th June Southampton, England Engine Rooms Sun 5th Aug Blackpool, England Rebellion Festival Sun 19th Aug Hardwick, England Hardwick Live Festival Sat 25th Aug Bangor, Northern Ireland Bangor Marina Tue 28th Aug Inverness, Scotland The Ironworks Wed 29th Aug Aberdeen, Scotland The Assembly Fri 31st Aug Dundee, Scotland The Church

17/05/2018 13:59:57
Go to the news list
Comments
There are no comments yet, be the first.
Your comment
Recommended
Search any pictures!*
Adult videos and photos!*
Best world video + search!*
Free datings!*
Social Networks
 @muzmo_en
muzmo.org © 2009-2018
Feedback / Report an error